“I want to see the foundation.”

It’s hard work building healthy, mutual partnerships in the global church.

This was a page of processing what I heard during one day’s experiences last year.  A dear friend of mine from Peru shared a story from the 1960’s involving a can of tuna, a child and a missionary that really got under my skin, and made me think about how we enter the flow of the work of the church that has gone on for decades, centuries really.

Also that day I visited a friend, a single mom who once was so proud of her front yard garden, an area that had become a concrete slab because she got a job and could afford that luxury.  It kind of broke my heart to no longer see her garden.

“I want to see the foundation” were words I overheard on the bus from a pastor from New Orleans.

Changes, advances (?), and transformation  happen over time.

IMG_1543

One thought on ““I want to see the foundation.”

Leave a Reply

